Uncategorized

Garden egg sauce made easy!

If there’s any sauce that first won my heart as a child it was Garden egg sauce. My sweet Mum is so good at preparing it that everytime we wanted to eat yam I would beg her to make garden egg sauce with it. 

I got old enough to cook and I love to use simple methods in cooking, my Mum’s method or let me say the general method used in cooking this sauce to me was a Long process and I felt the garden egg would have lost most of its nutrients before it gets to your stomach. So I came up with this method… Let’s call it the Grate method….lol. all you need to do is to grate, yes I said grate. No need to boil first and then start mashing the garden eggs. 

Sweetheart I can’t wait to teach you, Now let’s get started.



Ingredients 

7 garden egg 

I medium onion 

5 chili  pepper 

2 tomatoes 

Dried fish 

1 teaspoon ground crayfish 

Palm oil 

Grated carrot

Ground Chili Pepper (optional) 

Salt and seasoning cubes to taste 



Preparation 

1. Grate garden eggs using a grater (same grater used for grating okra) 

2. Slice tomatoes, Habanero pepper and onions.

3. Heat palm oil In a pot and fry the onion pepper, tomatoes and dry fish.

4. When the pepper is well fried, add the grated garden egg and fry, add seasoning and salt to taste.

5. Now that the garden egg is well fried, add the ground crayfish and grated carrots and a little water if it looks as if it wants to start burning. Allow to fry for half a minute more before turning off the heat.
You can enjoy your garden egg sauce with yam, rice, spaghetti, plantain etc. 
Don’t forget to like, comment and share!

1 thought on “Garden egg sauce made easy!”

Leave a comment